National Women's Soccer League (NWSL)

National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) Image

Similar to other U.S. professional sports, foreign-born players in the National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) have also had an impact on the game.

The NWSL was established in 2012 and has a total of 12 teams. The NWSL was formerly the Women's Professional Soccer (2007–2012) and the Women's United Soccer Association (2001–2003). The Women's United Soccer Association (WUSA) was formed after the United States won the 1999 FIFA Women's World Cup. The WUSA had eight teams and featured foreign-born players from 15 different countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, England, Finland, France, Germany, Guyana, Japan, Mexico, Norway, Scotland, and Sweden. 

Two decades later, in October 2023, 22 percent of NWSL players were foreign-born; a two percent increase from last year. Foreign-born NWSL players were born in 24 different countries. More than half (56%) of foreign-born NWSL players were born in Canada, Brazil, France, or Japan. Additionally, Kerolin Nicoli who is from Brazil, won the 2023 NWSL MVP award and coach Juan Carlos Amorós who is from Spain, won the Coach of the Year award. 

For more information regarding NWSL players during in the 2023 season, click on the below link:

2023 NWSL Fact Sheet

For more information regarding NWSL players in prior seasons, click on the below link:

2022 National Women’s Soccer League Fact Sheet